I just started playing again and I was wondering. Are the 3 keys to winning recruiting Athleticism first then Athleticism and the finally Athleticism then if you happen to get some defense and speed it wouldn't hurt? 

6/27/2013 1:41 PM
IT helps with everything. Having superior ATH is certainly helpful.

You can have an elite team without high ATH but is rare.
6/27/2013 1:45 PM
Yeah, basically. This game is like most of the games on this site - there is a tried and true "cookie cutter" pattern that will generate some level of success if you do it correctly.

6/27/2013 2:02 PM
I think Defense is very important as well as ATH.
6/27/2013 2:44 PM
Yeah, I've recently been convinced, at least at D3, that it is more than possible to dominate with elite ath.
6/27/2013 4:23 PM
I would suggest ATH is the most important attribute, but as I've seen before in DIII, if you go in with elite ATH and nothing else, good teams will kick your butt.
6/27/2013 4:32 PM
Yeah, you can't win with ONLY ATH.

When I build a team, I try to have a PG (HIGH PA and BH), two rebounders (high REB and ATH), and two guys who can score, preferably at least one a 3 pt shooter.   If all those guys have high ATH and DEF then presto, I have a good team.
6/27/2013 6:16 PM
As a base you want ATH and DEF to be high - but you have to follow that up with other things as well.  
6/27/2013 8:20 PM
Posted by jsajsa on 6/27/2013 4:32:00 PM (view original):
I would suggest ATH is the most important attribute, but as I've seen before in DIII, if you go in with elite ATH and nothing else, good teams will kick your butt.
A few seasons ago in D2 I had a pretty experimental team with 3 starters that were >90 in both ATH and DEF, but not too great otherwise.  I made it to the sweet 16 but got destroyed by a #1 seed.  I would agree that elite ATH alone will only get you so far.  If that's all your team has to offer you won't be able to hang with the big dogs.
6/27/2013 8:33 PM