Confessions of a GD newbie Topic

I was thinking of writing something up anyway, and then Oriole's new post kind of forced my hand. There's been alot of talk about dumbing down the game to "encourage" new players to sign up and stick with the game.....well, thats exactly what I am. I started playing GD back in December I think, after getting a code in my email for a free team. Since then, I've actually stuck around, but feel like this might be the appropriate time to "voice" some frustrations and give everyone some insight as to what a new player goes through.

1) Unbeknownst to me at the time, there was no way I could win in my first season. This game basically boils down to 3 things (in this order I believe), skill of players, knowledge of formations, and a smidge of coaching prowess. Starting a team from scratch, I had no where near the quality of players on my team to compete with others and I didn't even know it at the time. It really isnt a whole lot of fun getting whooped every week even if you didn't pay for it.

2) Your tutorial is fairly weak. God bless some of the posts on the forums, otherwise I would be completely lost. My first season I recruited a total of TWO players, one of which was a kicker. It was a complete waste of time for me to recruit and would eventually cost me a season essentially. I'll take this time to give a thank you to caesari  and his GD guide to the game post, for without it, I would of been gone a long time ago.

3) Game planning and what the heck I was doing was basically pointless. I again was clueless....running stupid formations, no direction for my team, used a practice schedule picked by WIS that had no formation practice. I just didn't know. Again, a wasted a season.